progress and planning

Here’s another photo of the shrug-awl. I’ve not taken any pix of the completed piece….though I keep meaning to:

march-30-0011

It is quite comfy and just the right warmth. These mornings, here in very early spring, can be sooooo chilly. But a big bulky sweater gets in the way of housework and knitting. A shawl that stays up on my shoulders is perfect.

Next, the alphabet blocks.
march-30-004

There’s the completed letter A, and next to it the first dozen or so rows of the letter C. They are knitting up so nicely.

I chose to use size 4 needles for a really tight stitch. These are much smaller than the test I knitted last week. That was with a basic cotton yarn and size 10 needles. It is perfect for washing dishes, btw.

But for this project, I wanted something smaller and less ‘floppy.’

Oh, and yes, I do understand that B is the next letter of the alphabet. šŸ˜€

My plan is to knit the entire alphabet out of the 4 colors of Caron Simply Soft I bought last week. They are colors that look lovely together.

Initially I see this being a birthday present for Whingari (she’s a December baby) to play with. They are wonderfully textural. Then when her interest has waned, I can pull them all together and stitch them into a blanket.

I’ve even mapped out the plan of colors. Seriously:
march-30
Here’s it is, in my extra fancy knitting journal. šŸ˜‰

I decided I’d do 2 blocks of each color at a time. Then switch to the next color and so on. I think this will make the project less tedious than working in one color for 7 or 8 blocks at a time.

Off to knit,
Mary

Leave a Reply

